top of page

Winter Storms

Well, here we are sitting with about 15" of snow in our country yard. I am happy to say I didn't get to see this snow fall coming. I was in Wisconsin at a Company party with my husband and his work when we got hit with this snow accumulation. Bad thing is I came home Sunday to a blocked and filled driveway and got stuck in it. My oldest daughter kept my 3 younger ones so I stopped by her place to pick them up and my truck I was driving got stuck on ice at her place. So my Son in Law got van out and truck unstuck and I made my way home with the kids in the van to get it stuck. My hubby ended up driving 3 hours back to the Canton house to run the tractor and dig us out cos my 16 year old son started to and got tractor stuck too. What a mess!! The store was packed with snow and finally got sidewalk area shoveled off there for a few appointments I had this past week. I do not like winter. I'd be happy to live in an area where it was 70 degrees year round. Anyone know of such a place? Yeah me either, so for now we are still in Canton. LOL.

So while we were in Wisconsin, we prepared for the upcoming tax season which included going over our numbers for the past year. Sadly, they are not good. We have been lacking participation for our camps and classes and birthday parties have been declining as well. So we are facing closing. This is a hard decision and a heart breaking one for me as this has been my life the past 4 years and such a exciting adventure I started. I have enjoyed getting to know customers that have been "regular" to our studio. It's been great getting to know new customers as well. I have had a lot of fun coming up with crafts for the kids to do and sparking their creative sides. We worked with scouts too and enjoyed teaching them of pottery and painting.

So we are still closed til March for the winter other than Saturdays that I can make it into town. With the upcoming snow again this weekend, we may be closed again this Saturday for I will not be able to make it to town. We are doing by appointment Tues- Friday too. We did sell some gift certificates for Christmas gifts so hoping we can get those redeemed for you all by the time we make a final decision. We closed for winter to attempt to save on Ameren bill which is extremely high through the winter months, but we are only cutting about $100 having furnace turned down to 53 from our normal 68 degrees. That's just not enough. So we are asking for any of you that are praying folks to pray that times shift and we are able to gain some sales to keep our doors open. We are looking for other crafty folks to sell their wares in our store as a consignment type deal to help offset expenses. I have a few areas we rent space. $35-$60 and you can choose which space you want as first come, first serve. We are looking for crafters items. We still have a few goat milk soap bars left and would be happy to add another person who makes their own bath/beauty products, wood working items, metal art, jewelry etc so if you know someone who makes anything crafty and looking for a spot to sell their items please let them know about us and see if we can make it work to stay open. Painting pottery is such a great addition for Canton and a fun family activity. We are noticing many small businesses closing in Canton and we really don't want to be one of them. Please help us keep this family owned and ran business open in our small town.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page